Boston Symphony Orchestra

Sundays at 1:00pm

The Boston Symphony Orchestra comes to VPR Classical Sunday afternoons on VPR Classical.

Founded in 1881, the BSO is one of America's "Big Five" orchestras, performing at Boston's Symphony Hall and the Tanglewood Music Center.

Thanks to WGBH Boston for partnering with Vermont Public Radio to bring these live performances to VPR Classical listeners.

You'll hear emerging and established guest conductors, extraordinary soloists and enduring repertoire.

Genre: 
Composer ID: 
51802905e1c810b152ff9776|5180286ee1c8bf264f49f078

Pages

Boston Symphony Orchestra
10:35 am
Fri April 11, 2014

Andrew Davis Conducts

Andrew Davis, conductor

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 6

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2  (Yuja Wang, piano)

Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio Espagnol

Listen Sunday April 13 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
1:41 pm
Fri April 4, 2014

Yefim Bronfman Plays More Beethoven

Christoph von Dohnanyi, conductor

All-Beethoven:

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat, 'Emperor'  (Yefim Bronfman, piano)

Triple Concerto in C, Op. 56  (Yefim Bronfman, piano; Guy Braunstein, violin; Alisa Weilerstein, cello)

Listen Sunday April 6 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
5:17 pm
Fri March 28, 2014

Yefim Bronfman Plays Beethoven

Christoph von Dohnanyi, conductor

Yefim Bronfman, piano

All-Beethoven:

Leonore Overture No. 2

Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37

Piano Concerto No. 4 in G, Op. 58

Listen Sunday March 30 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
5:33 pm
Fri March 21, 2014

All-Beethoven

Christian Zacharias, conductor and pianist

Beethoven: Creatures of Prometheus Overture

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat, Op. 19

Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 in F, Op. 68 'Pastoral'

Listen Sunday March 23 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
2:30 pm
Fri March 14, 2014

Andris Nelsons Conducts Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich

The BSO's Music Director-designate Andris Nelsons conducts

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto no. 1  (Baibe Skride, violin)

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5

Listen Sunday March 16 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
11:17 am
Fri March 7, 2014

Anne-Sophie Mutter Plays Dvorak

Manfred Honeck, conductor

Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin

Dvorak: Romance for Violin in F minor, Op. 11

Dvorak: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53

Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat, Op. 55 'Eroica'

Listen Sunday March 9 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
1:25 pm
Thu February 27, 2014

Sibelius and Brahms from Tanglewood

An encore from last summer's Tanglewood season.

Christoph von Dohnanyi, conductor

Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47  (Gil Shaham, violin)

Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D, Op. 73

Listen Sunday March 2 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
2:07 pm
Fri February 21, 2014

Murray Perahia Plays Schumann

Bernard Haitink, conductor

Stephen Stucky: Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary, after Purcell

Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54  (Murray Perahia, piano)

Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98

Listen Sunday February 23 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
10:47 am
Fri February 14, 2014

Bernard Haitink Conducts Ravel

Bernard Haitink conducts a program of Ravel's music.  We'll hear Alborada del Gracioso; Sheherazade, featuring mezzo-soprano Susan Graham; and the complete ballet Daphnis et Chloe, with the Tanglewood Festival Chorus.

Listen Sunday February 16 at 1 p.m.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
3:03 pm
Fri February 7, 2014

Garrick Ohlsson Plays Lutoslawski

Andris Poga conducts the BSO in Wagner's Rienzi Overture; Witold Lutoslawski's Piano Concerto, played by Garrick Ohlsson; and the Symphony No. 15 of Dmitri Shostakovich.

Listen Sunday February 9 at 1 p.m.

Pages