Vermont Public Radio http://digital.vpr.net en Rachmaninoff And Verdi http://digital.vpr.net/post/rachmaninoff-and-verdi <p>Jacques Lacombe, conductor<br />Gabriela Montero, piano<br />Tanglewood Festival Chorus; Marjorie Owens, soprano; Elizabeth Bishop, mezzo-soprano; Issachah Savage, tenor; Stephen Powell, baritone; Morris Robinson, bass; Julien Robbins, bass</p><p>Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18<br />Verdi: <em>Nabucco</em> Overture<br />Verdi: <em>Va, pensiero</em> (Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves) from <em>Nabucco</em><br />Verdi: Act 2 Finale of <em>Aida</em></p><p><em>Broadcast Sunday July 27 at 2 p.m.</em></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 17:29:03 +0000 Walter Parker 30687 at http://digital.vpr.net Messiaen, De Falla And Ravel http://digital.vpr.net/post/messiaen-de-falla-and-ravel <p>Ludovic Morlot, conductor</p><p>Olivier Messiaen: <em>Trois petites liturgies de la presence divine</em><br />Manuel de Falla: <em>Nights in the Gardens of Spain</em><br />Maurice Ravel: <em>Rapsodie espagnole</em></p><p><em>Broadcast Saturday July 26 at 8 p.m.</em><br />&nbsp;</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 17:22:43 +0000 Walter Parker 30686 at http://digital.vpr.net Mozart's Gran Partita http://digital.vpr.net/post/mozarts-gran-partita <p>Mozart: Serenade for Winds and Double Bass in B-flat, K. 361&nbsp; <em>Gran Partita</em>&nbsp;</p><p><em>Broadcast Saturday July 26 at 7 p.m</em>.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 17:16:50 +0000 Walter Parker 30685 at http://digital.vpr.net Woolf: Kids, Counting, Race, And Vermont http://digital.vpr.net/post/woolf-kids-counting-race-and-vermont <p> Recently the Annie E. Casey Foundation released its annual survey of how well children are doing in the 50 states. Titled Kids Count, the study found that Vermont ranked second in the nation in its measure of the overall well-being of children. Only Massachusetts ranked higher.<br /><br />The study looked at sixteen indicators of how well kids are doing, measuring their economic well-being, education levels, health, and family living conditions.<br /> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:39:44 +0000 Art Woolf 30683 at http://digital.vpr.net Making Kids Count http://digital.vpr.net/post/making-kids-count <p></p><p>Vermont ranks second in the country in child well being. That’s according to the most-recent Kids Count Data Book, which is published annually by the Annie E. Casey Foundation. The state is among the top 10 in all four of the ranked categories – economic well-being, education, health, and family and community.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Bob Kinzel & Ric Cengeri 30665 at http://digital.vpr.net Making Kids Count My Place: When Love & Marriage Go Bad http://digital.vpr.net/post/my-place-when-love-marriage-go-bad <p>This week, <em>My Place</em> mines the vaults of the early rock era for pop songs about weddings and marriage gone bad, titled, "Where Were You On Your Wedding Day?" We'll hear an hour of songs which look at relationships that didn't turn out quite the way the couple had planned.</p><p><em>Broadcast on Saturday, July 26 at 8 p.m.</em></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:12:54 +0000 Joel Najman 30645 at http://digital.vpr.net My Place: When Love & Marriage Go Bad Closures, Weather, Hazards: State Offers Custom Emergency Alerts http://digital.vpr.net/post/closures-weather-hazards-state-offers-custom-emergency-alerts <p>Wouldn't it be great if you could have school closings, weather alerts and nearby road hazards all custom delivered to your phone or inbox? It's a technology that's already in full swing in <a href="http://www.nyalert.gov/">New York</a>, and is getting off the ground in Vermont.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 14:02:01 +0000 Amy Kolb Noyes 30661 at http://digital.vpr.net Closures, Weather, Hazards: State Offers Custom Emergency Alerts Friday Night Jazz: Ray Vega http://digital.vpr.net/post/friday-night-jazz-ray-vega <p>Trumpeter-flugelhornist Ray Vega is my guest on <em>Friday Night Jazz</em> this Friday, July 25 at 8 p.m.</p><p>Vega is a veteran of seminal Latin Jazz ensembles led by Tito Puente, Mongo Santamaria, Johnny Pacheco and many others. He has also worked with Paul Simon, The Lincoln Center Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra and The Duke Ellington Orchestra.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:35:23 +0000 Reuben Jackson 30473 at http://digital.vpr.net Friday Night Jazz: Ray Vega Host Neal Charnoff Leaving VPR http://digital.vpr.net/post/host-neal-charnoff-leaving-vpr <p>Neal Charnoff, VPR’s longtime local host of <em><a href="http://digital.vpr.net/programs/all-things-considered">All Things Considered</a></em>, will be setting his alarm clock a bit earlier as the new host of <em>Morning Edition</em> at <a href="http://wfdd.org/">WFDD public radio</a> in Winston-Salem, NC. The news of Neal’s departure from VPR was shared with his colleagues earlier this week. He cited long Vermont winters and a desire to be closer to stepchildren as reasons for his decision.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:28:38 +0000 Brendan Kinney 30674 at http://digital.vpr.net Host Neal Charnoff Leaving VPR Art Hounds: Art Auction & Chamber Music http://digital.vpr.net/post/art-hounds-art-auction-chamber-music Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:27:22 +0000 Mary Williams 30678 at http://digital.vpr.net